Blogs > All About Milford and Orange

If you live, work, or simply just care about Milford and Orange, this is the site for you. We'll provide you with interesting news about these communities. Most importantly we want to hear from you. Feel free to contact City Editor Helen Bennett Harvey, at or Brian McCready, Milford Bureau Chief, at

Monday, June 20, 2011

CT Rail Commuter Council honored by Legislature

As it marks its 25th anniversary of service to commuters, the CT Metro-North Rail Commuter Council was hailed recently by the state legislature for its work on behalf of Metro-North riders in Connecticut.

At its regular monthly meeting, each of the 13 members of the Council was presented with an Official Citation which read:

"In recognition of your participation on the Connecticut Metro-North Rail Commuter Council as it celebrates its 25th anniversary.  You have been an instrumental partner in efforts to improve rail service in CT with solid organization, clear communication and effective advocacy.  The citizens of Connecticut are much indebted to your efforts, enthusiasm and dedication to the Council."

The Citations were introduced by St. Representatives Terrie Wood, Larry Cafero, Gail Lavielle, Ernest Hewett, Edward Moukawsher, Bruce Morris, Chris Perone, Patricia Widlitz  and State Senators Bob Duff, Edward Meyer, Andrea Stillman, Carlo Leone and Toni Boucher.

"It was tremendously thoughtful of these lawmakers to honor our efforts," said Jim Cameron, chairman of the Council, shown in the photo.  "We occasionally get a 'thank you' from  our fellow commuters, but this honor from the legislature is especially welcome as we mark our 25th anniversary."
Created by the Connecticut legislature, the CT Rail Commuter Council's members are Metro-North or Shore Line East commuters who serve, without compensation, as advocates of their fellow riders' interests.  The CT Rail Commuter Council meets monthly with Metro-North and Connecticut Dept of Transportation and testifies before state and regional boards and commissions in favor of affordable, reliable rail service in the state.

More information is available at the Council's website:<>


Jim Cameron  -  Darien                        Rodney Chabot  -  New Canaan

Roger Cirella  -  Ansonia                      Laura Cordes  -  New London

Terri Cronin  -  Norwalk                       Mitch Fuchs  -  Fairfield

John Hartwell  -  Westport                   Robert Jelley  -  Guilford

Jeff Maron  -  Stamford                       Mark Maruszewski  -  Darien

Sue Prosi  -  Stratford                          Luke Schnirring  -  Norwalk

Drew Todd  -  Norwalk

Editor's note: All information in this post was contributed. It is unedited here.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home